Living In the Presence of God

prayer..

It is our task in life to live in the presence of God continuously; “to pray without ceasing.” It is impossible for man but nothing is impossible for God. So we may think we are incapable but as we have already discussed everything is possible with Christ.

About 3 posts ago I wrote a post that nobody seemed to understand. It didn’t strike me until the comments all had a similar ring to them that belied the intended message I wished to convey. I finally had to give the commenter, Jay, an explanation of what the blog was intended to be and so I apologize: it’s not the reader, it’s the fault of the author when things are not understood.

The post was titled, Failure to Commit, and my explanation could be paraphrased as follows:

 My point of reference was myself, as I am the only one I can speak for with any certitude; and as the author I was afraid that if done poorly, it could sound as if I were pointing a finger at my readers.  It was written solely for the purpose of showing the reader that we all need God’s grace to accomplish anything: that even simple prayers for an increase in faith, hope and love, may one day help us in this task of making and keeping important commitments. I’m no saint and recognize that most people fall short as well; but that does not mean that any of us have lost the opportunity as long as God continues to hold us in existence upon this earth. I was just trying to get across our real need for increased grace and that I too must be realistic about my own failures. Our failures show a weakness; and the weakness usually resides in our own individual will. Only love can motivate the will sufficiently to make the hardest commitment of all: dying to self. Without this truth indelibly infused into our minds there is no hope of dropping the pose for the true inner experience that we desire. The death of our ego, which we should seek, must begin within us so that God can be allowed to live His life within our souls. He will not accept competition in this regard. Only a very strong love and desire to die to self and to be reborn in Him will allow this to happen. And we will all fail; over and over again. That is why our prayers for each other are so necessary and beneficial for our advancement. My final analysis was that successful commitments need a strong love and a strong sense of sacrifice. In short, sacrificial love.

 It is important to get this straightened out at the outset of this post should you have read the last three entries.

So we acknowledge that we need to develop sacrificial love in our hearts, agape love, the type that Christ had for us. As Christ perfects our souls in love through many trials, we continue to work on our virtues and our prayers, failing often but setting out again with the knowledge that Christ is teaching the soul and perfecting our love.

This action of repeatedly traversing from consolations to desolations and back again, occur both in our prayers and in our everyday living. This cycle brings us to a point where we begin to see God in all aspects of our lives. He is there in the joyous moments and even more present when our souls are suffering great torment. It is in this well-spring of spiritual life that God’s presence becomes the living water and an abiding presence that never leaves us.

Only then can our will gain the loving resolve to accept God’s will in all things. We are ready, finally, to surrender ourselves to Divine Providence. A complete abandonment of our self-serving will: I am yours, O Lord, do with me what you will.

6 thoughts on “Living In the Presence of God

  1. The key part of your post, as I see it, is, “The death of our ego, which we should seek, must begin within us so that God can be allowed to live His life within our souls.” Oh, how difficult that is for any human being to accomplish. Even the saints have problems with it. Humility was ingrained in me by the nuns of my youth but it’s still a struggle. The devil whispers in our ears that we need to be numero uno. The path to God is long and difficult and we human sinners must stay on that path.

    Like

    • The death of egoism is probably a better description as we don’t lose our personality or sense of the I – Thou relationship. That is why a supernatural humility is another way of speaking of it. It is a melding of wills so that the I wills what the Thou wills. It is far beyond what we generally think of when we think of humility on its own. It is a hard path but the heroes of our faith show us that it can be done.

      Like

    • I believe it was Solanus Casey when acting as a porter for the monastery that said that one night when he was in deep prayer he failed to answer the bell for a visitor and that Christ admonished him for neglecting his duties. The sense was that we must meet our responsibilities especially when others depend on us. Why should God answer us in our prayers if we neglect others who depend on us. It made an impact on me because I used to get annoyed every time my prayers were interrupted by some worldly request. God wants us to respond to them as he responds to us: with all love and patience.

      Like

Leave a Reply

