CNS STORY: Defending life, liberty part of the new evangelization, archbishop says

CNS STORY: Defending life, liberty part of the new evangelization, archbishop says.

In his homily, Archbishop Lori pointed out the irony in those advocating “freedom of choice” are trying to force people of faith to violate their religions’ teachings. “Our ‘right to choose’ — our right to choose to practice the faith we profess, a right guaranteed by the First Amendment — seems to mean little or nothing to many who wield power.”

The archbishop noted that many secular threats to religious liberty “seem to hinge on the church’s teaching with regard to the sanctity of life — whether it’s the church’s teaching on the immorality of abortion, or the obligation of couples to be open to the God-given gift of human life, or marriage as between one man and one woman.”

Archbishop Lori said the link between the God-given gifts of life and liberty was noted by Thomas Jefferson, who once said: “The God who gave us life, gave us liberty at the same time; the hand of force may destroy but cannot disjoin them.”

14 thoughts on “CNS STORY: Defending life, liberty part of the new evangelization, archbishop says

  1. We need to be just as aggressive as the forces of secularism in our country today. That doesn’t mean to use their methods and tools and strategies, but aggressive nonetheless. Where others act in anger and hate towards Christians, we need to respond with grace and love. Where they tell lies and stretch the truth in order to defame and strengthen their position, we must be direct and truthful. But in no case should we back down. We need to be bold and aggressive and unrelenting. For this is a war.

    Like

    • We are indeed in a war Mr. V. Some of the left’s tactics we might want to look at though – like getting involved in the education of our kids, getting involved in local politics to get the right values instilled from the small govt. structures, to the states and then to the national level. Also we need to keep up the work we’ve done in getting a voice in the media. We now have Fox and that is it on the televised media – the left also dominates the internet and print media. The only bright spot is talk radio. We need to do more.

      Like

      • Oh, absolutely. I agree completely. All those things you mentioned we should be doing. But I see those more as battlefields, rather than tactics. What I am labelling the tactics of secularists and leftists are their tendencies to lie and distort the truth, and to defame others in order to try and win arguments. We also need to stand in God’s grace, whatever the battlefield, and act in a spirit of love rather than hate. By love, I don’t mean act nice towards evil or wickedness. We must call out evil for what it is, and pull no punches when doing so. But we must do so without being hateful or vindictive. For me that’s a struggle, for I have the temptation to want to get in people’s faces and call them out for what I think they are. But that’s my desire, not God’s.

        Like

        • I think that in most situations you are right. But it is an interesting thing if you read about Padre Pio. At times he was taken to task for being mean and angry with certain people by his own superior. He told the superior that One with more authority told him what to say and how to react — and sometimes it was pretty extreme; denying to hear a confession from a lady whose hem line was too short for instance. But the outcome was that the woman indeed needed this reminder and broke down in tears confessing many things that she had not before thought about. It’s a funny thing about anger and holy anger as they are not easily distinguished. Anyway, mostly you are right, but God at times uses us to send a lesson to someone who will not hear it any other way. The love for the person’s immortal soul preempts the desire to be civil and appear loving and accepting to others. So its a hard call. I say, speak from the heart and if it comes out mean spirited, so be it. As long as one speaks the truth you need not apologize. As long as you desire the best for another’s soul, you need not be nice to them if by being angry and coarse is more effective in getting through to them. The problem is – discovering if you speak from real anger or from holy anger with another’s soul in the balance. Very tricky stuff.

          Like

        • “As long as you desire the best for another’s soul, you need not be nice to them if by being angry and coarse is more effective in getting through to them. The problem is – discovering if you speak from real anger or from holy anger with another’s soul in the balance. Very tricky stuff.”

          That’s the trick, and it’s something I struggle with. Problem for me is, I by nature have a tendency to be blunt and sometimes a little on the rough side. Chalk it up to the influences I had while in the Army. I’m not the best judge of knowing when to apply the heavy hand and when to use the light touch. That’s an area of my life where God’s working on me, and I am still very much a work in progress.

          Like

          • As we all are. I guess we don’t know as Padre Pio and other Saints knew when we are being led to say things in a way that will help another rather than hurt them. It is always a source of second guessing ourselves. I can only speak for myself that when I am in conversation with others in RCIA or in Inquiry in the Catholic Faith, I try to keep the salvation of another’s soul as the primary driver. At times it leads me to great patience and I move slow without anger and at other times I find myself belittling a foolish notion about some subject. I never know if I was right or wrong in my delivery but trust that God knows my heart was fixed upon the salvation of souls. Right or wrong, I hope that will be enough.

            Like

        • Speaking of Padre Pio, that’s a saint I really need to learn more about. There are people in my parish I’ve come across who had the blessing of meeting Padre Pio in person. Lately, he has been on my mind, and reading your comment renews the desire to learn more about him and his life.

          Like

          • Please do read a book or two about him. He was a contemporary to our age, dying 10 years to the day before my marriage. So I always remember my anniversary as it is the Feast of Padre Pio. He was a remarkable saint that you should get to know.

            Like

        • I hear you. Bringing it back to the subject at hand, some of my greatest anger is when Mr. Biden, and those of his ilk, speak out on their distorted version of Catholicism. I have the desire to speak out against him, and woe be to the fellow Catholic I meet who expresses admiration for Biden and his ‘courage’. That guy’s in for an earful, and it won’t be too nice. People like Biden do need to be rebuked, publicly and privately, and they need to be made aware they stand against the church, and not with it. Would that when Biden goes to Mass, the priest there will follow Padre Pio’s example.

          Like

  2. Servus, for sure we’re in a battle. It’s more death by a thousand cuts. Watching the Daily Telegraphs comments on religious postings, I can see the extreme secularization of England and the same goes for the comments in Canada’s Conservative e-paper the National Post.

    As to Righteous Anger, I really lost it in replying to the scandal at my old school in England and I tore a strip off the current Abbott, who in my opinion together with the previous Abbott should have been charged as accessories after the fact. Needless to say I got no response. I did so because nobody seemed to get angry at those that allowed it to happen and cover it up.

    Like

    • Precisely my point David. Sometimes we need to exercise our God given emotion of anger for good. We both see a need at times because by the negligence and foolishness of some, many more immortal souls could be at stake.

      Like

  3. A Saint for our times is Saint Thomas Becket. We would all do well to follow his example of how to act when ordered to act against our faith by the government. Every Bishop, every priest, every leader of every organization that is Catholic, needs to firmly refuse the unjust laws put in place by our government that would force us to deny our faith in the public sphere. And if they come to arrest any of the bishops or priests or leaders, every member of every parish and diocese should stand there in front, and let the authorities know they must arrest them as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

